DateRHome vs Away-
03/01 13:30 20 Milford FC vs Hungry Lions FC View
03/01 17:30 20 Maritzburg Utd vs NB La Masia FC View
03/02 13:30 20 Casric Stars FC vs Black Leopards View
03/02 13:30 20 JDR Stars vs Upington City View
03/02 13:30 20 Pretoria Callies vs Marumo Gallants View
03/02 13:30 20 Venda Football Academy vs Orbit College View
03/03 13:30 20 Magesi FC vs Baroka FC View
03/03 13:30 20 Platinum City Rovers vs Pretoria University View
03/08 13:30 21 Pretoria University vs Hungry Lions FC View
03/09 13:30 21 Black Leopards vs Magesi FC View
03/09 13:30 21 Casric Stars FC vs NB La Masia FC View
03/09 13:30 21 Platinum City Rovers vs Pretoria Callies View


Date R Home vs Away -
02/18 13:30 19 [2] Orbit College vs Casric Stars FC [8] 0-1
02/18 13:30 19 [14] Marumo Gallants vs Magesi FC [4] 0-2
02/17 13:30 19 [13] Milford FC vs Maritzburg Utd [11] 0-0
02/17 13:30 19 Hungry Lions FC vs Venda Football Academy 0-1
02/17 13:30 19 Black Leopards vs Platinum City Rovers 3-1
02/17 13:30 19 Baroka FC vs Pretoria Callies 2-1
02/16 13:30 19 [2] University of Pretoria vs Upington City [5] 2-1
02/16 13:30 19 [10] NB La Masia FC vs JDR Stars [8] 0-0
02/14 13:30 18 [15] Marumo Gallants vs Venda Football Academy [16] 1-0
02/14 13:30 18 Black Leopards vs Pretoria Callies 0-1
02/14 13:30 18 [6] Baroka FC vs Platinum City Rovers [14] 1-1
02/13 13:30 18 Casric Stars FC vs Maritzburg Utd 3-3

The National First Division (NFD), officially known as the Motsepe Foundation Championship for sponsorship reasons, is the second-highest league of South African club football after the South African Premier Division. Both the NFD and South African Premier Division are organised by the Premier Soccer League.


The first non-racial second level of South African football, was established in March 1987 as the OK League. This league served as the competing place, for promotion/relegation to and from the topflight NSL. In the former years from 1978–1986, a topflight non-racial First Level had already been established, after the merger of the NFL and NPSL, to form the new common topflight NPSL. In the early years from 1978–1986 relegation/promotion to and from the topflight league, according to official records actually did happen, but apparently it happened from a Second Level league structure, still divided into whites/blacks/coloureds.

When the new topflight Premier Soccer League was established in 1996, the organizers at the same time for the Second Level, replaced the former OK League with the new National First Division. Apart from being covered by a better sponsor deal, the most significant change -both at the First and Second Level- was to change the fixtures from yearly seasons, into the more Internationally adapted: September–May football season.

The first sponsors were United Bank who sponsored the league in 1997 and 1998. From November 1998 until the end of the 2001/2001 season, the league was sponsored by MTN. It was reported that MTN withdrew from sponsorship the First Division as they were unhappy with their treatment from the PSL - the division organisers. MTN had been rebuffed by the PSL in their efforts to sponsor the PSL-organised Charity Cup because Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs would refuse to play in the tournament as the two clubs were sponsored by MTN's telecommunication rivals, Vodacom. The First Division could not find a new sponsor until May 2004.

From 2004 until 2007 the league was sponsored by business magnate Tokyo Sexwale's Mvelaphanda Group and known as Mvela Golden League. For those three seasons, there was no geographical split and all 16 teams played in one division. The league was then initially unable to find a sponsor, and there was again a geographical split into two or four streams until the 2011–12 season.

Year Western Cape Natal/Eastern/Cape Northern Southern
Winner Winner Winner Winner
1996–97 Santos African Wanderers Black Leopards Tembisa Classic
Year Coastal Inland
Winner Runner-up Winner Runner-up
1997–98 Seven Stars Michau Warriors Dynamos Witbank Aces
1998–99 African Wanderers Avendale Athletico Tembisa Classic Ria Stars
1999–2000 Golden Arrows Avendale Athletico Ria Stars Dynamos
2000–01 Amazulu Park United Black Leopards Bloemfontein Young Tigers
2001–02 African Wanderers Avendale Athletico Dynamos Silver Stars
2002–03 AmaZulu Premier United Silver Stars Bloem Celtic
2003–04 Bush Bucks Avendale Athletico Bloemfontein Celtic Free State Stars
Winner Runner-up Third place Fourth place
2004–05 Free State Stars Durban Stars Hellenic Tembisa Classic
2005–06 Wits University City Pillars Vasco Da Gama Benoni Premier United
2006–07 Free State Stars Winners Park Pretoria University FC AK
Year Coastal Inland
Winner Runner-up Winner Runner-up
2007–08 Maritzburg United Bay United FC AK Dynamos
2008–09 Carara Kicks FC Cape Town Jomo Cosmos Mpumalanga Black Aces
2009–10 Vasco Da Gama Nathi Lions Black Leopards African Warriors
2010–11 Bay United Thanda Royal Zulu Jomo Cosmos Black Leopards
Winner Runner-up Third place Fourth place
2011–12 Pretoria University Chippa United Thanda Royal Zulu Blackburn Rovers
2012–13 Polokwane City Santos Mpumalanga Black Aces Thanda Royal Zulu
2013–14 Chippa United Black Leopards Maritzburg United Baroka
2014–15 Lamontville Golden Arrows Jomo Cosmos Black Leopards Thanda Zulu Royal
2015–16 Baroka Highlands Park Mbombela United Witbank Spurs
2016–17 Thanda Royal Zulu F.C. Black Leopards Stellenbosch Royal Eagles
2017–18 Highlands Park Black Leopards Jomo Cosmos Real Kings
2018–19 Stellenbosch Royal Eagles Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila Ajax Cape Town
2019–20 Moroka Swallows Ajax Cape Town Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila Real Kings
2020–21 Sekhukhune United Royal AM Richards Bay TS Sporting
2021–22 Richards Bay Tuks Cape Town All Stars JDR Stars
2022–23 Polokwane City Cape Town Spurs Casric Stars All Stars
The South Africa National Div 1 soccer tournament is one of the most prestigious and highly anticipated sporting events in the country. It showcases the immense talent and passion for soccer that exists within South Africa.

The tournament features the top soccer clubs from across the country, competing against each other in a thrilling display of skill, teamwork, and determination. The participating teams are carefully selected based on their performance in regional leagues, ensuring that only the best of the best get the opportunity to compete at the national level.

The South Africa National Div 1 tournament is known for its intense and fast-paced matches, where players showcase their technical abilities, tactical prowess, and physical strength. The matches are played in state-of-the-art stadiums, providing a vibrant and electric atmosphere for both players and spectators alike.

The tournament not only serves as a platform for clubs to showcase their talent but also acts as a stepping stone for players to catch the attention of national team selectors. Many players who have excelled in this tournament have gone on to represent South Africa at the international level, making it a crucial pathway for aspiring soccer stars.

The South Africa National Div 1 tournament is not just about the competition on the field; it is also a celebration of the rich soccer culture and heritage of the country. Fans from all walks of life come together to support their favorite teams, creating an atmosphere of unity and camaraderie. The tournament serves as a unifying force, bringing people together and fostering a sense of national pride.

Overall, the South Africa National Div 1 soccer tournament is a thrilling and highly competitive event that showcases the best of South African soccer. It is a celebration of talent, passion, and the enduring spirit of the game.