Super Netball 05/21 07:00 - Queensland Firebirds v Sunshine Coast Lightning 57-81
Super Netball 05/17 08:00 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v NSW Swifts 60-61
Super Netball 05/14 07:00 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v West Coast Fever 65-74
Super Netball 05/07 09:00 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v Adelaide Thunderbirds 42-46
Super Netball 05/01 04:00 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v GIANTS Netball 54-82
Super Netball 04/23 07:00 - NSW Swifts v Sunshine Coast Lightning 62-69
Super Netball 04/16 07:00 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v Melbourne Vixens 71-58
Super Netball 04/13 08:00 - Collingwood Magpies v Sunshine Coast Lightning 74-64
Super Netball 04/10 06:00 - Adelaide Thunderbirds v Sunshine Coast Lightning 51-52
Super Netball 04/02 08:00 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v Queensland Firebirds 54-82
Super Netball 03/27 04:00 - West Coast Fever v Sunshine Coast Lightning 82-62
Team Girls Cup 02/27 03:57 - Sunshine Coast Lightning v Adelaide Thunderbirds 32-53

Sunshine Coast Lightning are an Australian netball team based at the University of the Sunshine Coast. The team was formed in 2016 as a joint venture between the university and Melbourne Storm. Since 2017 they have played in Suncorp Super Netball. Lightning have played in three grand finals, winning premierships in 2017 and 2018.


New franchise

In May 2016, Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand announced that the ANZ Championship would be discontinued after the 2016 season. In Australia it was replaced by Suncorp Super Netball. The founding members of Suncorp Super Netball included the five former Australian ANZ Championship teams – Adelaide Thunderbirds, Melbourne Vixens, New South Wales Swifts, Queensland Firebirds and West Coast Fever; plus three brand new franchises: Collingwood Magpies, Giants Netball and Sunshine Coast Lightning.

In August 2016, Sunshine Coast Lightning was officially launched. The team was formed as a joint venture by Melbourne Storm and the University of the Sunshine Coast with the support of Sunshine Coast Council. The colours of the team - navy blue, purple and yellow - are the same as the Storm's. The logo features a bolt of lightning.

Noeline Taurua era

Before the official launch of Sunshine Coast Lightning, Noeline Taurua had already been announced as the inaugural head coach of the new franchise. In September 2016, Caitlin Bassett and Stephanie Wood became the first two Lightning players. Geva Mentor also subsequently signed for Lightning. In February 2017, Mentor was named captain of the new franchise. In 2017, Lightning finished the season as inaugural champions after defeating Giants Netball 65–48 in the grand final. In 2018 they retained the title after defeating West Coast Fever 62–59 in the grand final. In 2019, Lightning finished the regular season as minor premiers. They also played in their third successive grand final but this time, they were defeated by New South Wales Swifts. After three seasons as head coach at Lightning, Taurua resigned and was replaced by her assistant at the club, Kylee Byrne.

Regular season statistics

Season Position Won Drawn Lost
2nd 11 1 2
4th 8 1 5
1st 12 0 2
2nd 9 0 5
4th 8 0 6

Minor Premierships